Well knee surgery proved to be a much larger setback than anticipated. I missed all of my spring season, to this day cannot do any leg lifts, and finally started doing lunges just last week. It really has been a poor 6 months or so with everything thats been happening at home and with surgery, but the glass is half full. I have a new found motivation these days. I am not certain where it came from but why question a good thing? :)
I started counting calories about 2 weeks ago, and took a new approach to dieting. I used to look at dieting as a severe lifestyle change. I would barely eat anything for 4 to 5 days and then eventually just give in and eat whatever the hell i wanted. Nowadays, i've started to make much better choices. I am eating less, yes, but i am also being reasonable- i havent starved myself and i am noticing how much easier it is to diet when youre NOT CONSTANTLY HUNGRY. its pretty amazing. Along with smaller meals many times a day, I have found a routine, which yes does get boring, but seems to be working for me. Progressive light soups, which range from 160-190 calories per can, instant oatmeal, chewy bars, and yogurt. Whenever I get sick of eating this I normally pick up a sub from firehouse or subway, or the margarita grilled chicken from Chili's (roughly 600 calories). The chicken from Chili's is such a lifesaver. It is delicious and nutritious!
Since spring season is finally over, working out is going to get easier. During season it's hard to find time to work out after practice, individual practice, class, homework, zeta, and physical therapy, so I would usually just rely on weights/conditioning with the team. Now i dont have to worry about that :) I am going to start a lot of arm lifts and core work this week, and use physical therapy to tone my legs as much as possible. That is the most frustrating part. :/ I actually enjoy doing leg lifts, and HATE arm lifts, but i guess it is time to just change my mentality. Along with working out I have been taking a "weight loss supplement," but i definitely wouldnt call it that. It is the Mega T Green Tea pill. I think its pretty much just concentrated caffeine because it gives me a ton of energy (to burn at a workout) but otherwise I dont see a whole lot of benefits from it although it does help me concentrate on work, thus earning the name "crack pill." Its benefits outweigh its drawbacks- mainly dehydration, anxiousness, and jitters on occasion.
Another aid to my diet these days comes from my boyfriend :) he has started a recent health trend and although we have completely different goals, he helps encourage me! He wants to gain weight, and wouldnt it be nice if he and i could just trade problems?! whatever! if he can manage to get to the gym 6 nights a week then i should be able to do that too. plus its always fun to try and beat him at stuff- he helps spark some competitiveness out of this diet.
I have also encompassed this diet into a new outlook i guess you could say. I started a one month tanning membership (i know the risks of skin cancer are actually working against me in the long run but anyway...) and maybe if i feel more inclined to show a little (tan) skin, then i will feel even more motivated :) so to sum up all of my progress over the past two weeks i have established a goal date- senior week! since i will spend half of that week in a swim suit anyway i wanna look goooooooood. so that gives me three-four weeks (i think?) to do the best I can. I have a goal weight in mind, but I dont want to focus on the number as much as feeling good about myself- afterall, no one will know the number but me ;)
this crack pill has me feeling extra productive so i must leave you readers. :) until next time- au revoir!
No comments:
Post a Comment