Well well well loooooook whos back on the blog bandwagon. It's been a while guys and I am ashamed that I so carelessly let this tool go for these past 2 months. This blog is something that I really think was one of the deciding factors in my past diet success. I lost 6 pounds over the course of 3 weeks while counting calories, doing only arm and ab workouts, and also engaging in typical collegiate activities- not a bad job if you ask me. So here I am- back in action and once again ready to continue this blog for the remainder of the summer, 1st semester, 2nd, and so on. And did I mention that im fully released to run, lift, jump, squat, and all that other fun lower body resistance stuff? Haaaayeelll yeeeeeah.
All has not been lost since my last blog post 2 months ago- sure, I gained back the weight that I had originally lost, but one thing that I am so damn proud to say is that THE HABITS STUCK. The discipline that I gained over the semester long course of counting calories is something that I still rely on. I drink water all day long. I CRAVE water actually. Juices, sodas, and tea rarely sound appetizing to me (unless it's early in the morning and I MUST have a skinny vanilla iced late to survive). I make healthy choices at restaurants. I never snack on junk food anymore. I absolutely LOVE special K savory herb crackers, cracker chips, roasted almonds, and yogurt. I can think of a night when a friend and I sat in my room eating cheeto puffs, puppy chow, watching a chick flick, and I cried over the factors in my life changing in ways that I least wanted and hadn't yet learned how to cope with.
That was months ago. This is now.
That was the sad, pitiful, softie Allison. This is the new and improved, ass-kicking, laughing, HAPPY Allison.
This post needs at least one cliche- what doesnt kill you makes you stronger. This has been the single most difficult year of my life. I am curious about where I'd be now if I had chosen to spend the summer with my family. For a while i thought that my decision to stay near campus this summer was a mistake. This choice was based on three opportunities which all fell through. every. single. one. of. them. WTF. Thankfully, Ive had two different angels reach out to me and slowly I've come to realize that all this bullshit has been one big test for me- not a mistake by any means. I am finally seeing the light on everything that has been happening. I have been presented with another opportunity and im not letting it slip away.
***I KID YOU NOT. "SURVIVOR" BY DESTINY'S CHILD JUST CAME ON PANDORA lolololol anyway......
You know what I love more than a swim workout?............. nothing. nothing at all.
so many benefits- cardio, resistance, aerobic/anaerobic exercise, and it just feels so good to be in the water and not running outside in the heat ;) i started out swimming 3-4 times a week at school at the beginning of summer. It was SO easy to stay motivated with it because I always looked forward to being in the pool, it is so much fun to me. Now im in the pool 2 times (3 only on occasion) a week. I swim a minimum of a 600 each time these days. 100 freestyle, 100 breast stroke, 100 freestyle arms only, 200 kick only with flippers (hurts my booty everytime), and 100 free/breast alternating. I always do a tread circuit at the end as well. 1 min tread, 30 sec arms only, 30 sec legs only, 1 min both tread = 1 set. 2-3 sets and im usually pretty tired. I noticed that when I ran my mile time before i started swimming so much
compared to when i ran it afterward that it was SO MUCH EASIER. Very
uplifting :) Unfortunately, while swimming is great great fun, it doesnt make me a better volleyball player so thus why ive had to start cutting my time at the pool.
okay well friends it is bed time for me so expect another more goal oriented post within the next two days :) thanks for reading, really means a lot! XOXO